top of page

World Bar Conference 2018



The ICAB World Bar Conference took place in Stellenbosch from 29-31 March 2018.  The South African Bar hosted the World Bar Conference for the first time since the inaugural conference in Edinburgh in 2002. 


As in previous years, the World Bar Conference brought together internationally renowned speakers and delegates to exchange ideas, and to discuss issues of importance and interest to members of the international referral bars.


Delegates heard from a star studded array of speakers. Speakers came from all of the bars that make up the International Council of Advocates and Barristers, and there were a number of external speakers. 


Key Topics

  • Constitutional Democracy in South Africa

  • Choosing the Judges: The Controversy Continues

  • Separation of Powers: Can Judges (and umbuds) overreach?  A comparison of experiences

  • Will Rexit follow Brexit?

  • Regulation of the Bars: An international report card

  • Race and gender transformation of the Bar and Bench: Is an all-black Bar the answer?

  • Race and gender transformation of the Bar and Bench: The gender battle – political correctness, or a necessary assault on male privilege?

  • The corrosion of attorney/client privilege: How real is the threat?

  • ADR: Developments over the past few years

  • Is IT the last frontier for Bar and Bench?



Keynote addresses were given by:

  • Chief Justice of South Africa, Mogoeng Mogoeng

  • Lord Neuberger, Past President of the Supreme Court (England & Wales)


Other speakers included:

  • Justice David Barniville (Republic of Ireland)

  • Russell Coleman SC (Hong Kong)

  • Justice Adrian Colton (Northern Ireland)

  • Judge Dennis Davis (South Africa)

  • Clive Elliott QC (New Zealand)

  • Thandeka Gqubule (South Africa)

  • Greg Harpur SC (South Africa)

  • Gordon Jackson QC (Scotland)

  • Patrick Lane SC (South Africa)

  • Murdo MacLeod QC (Scotland)

  • Liam McCollum QC (Northern Ireland)

  • Paul McGarry SC (Republic of Ireland)

  • Calum MacNeill QC (Scotland)

  • Thuli Madonsela (South Africa)

  • Justice Glenn Martin (Australia)

  • Hugh Mohan SC (Republic of Ireland)

  • Sara Moorhead SC (Republic of Ireland)

  • Moss Mphaga SC (South Africa)

  • Mark Mulholland QC (Northern Ireland)

  • Vuyani Ngalwana SC (South Africa)

  • Tembeka Ngcukaitobi (South Africa)

  • Ron Paschke (South Africa)

  • Esi Schimming-Chase SC (Namibia)

  • Ishmael Semenya SC (South Africa)

  • Wim Trengove SC (South Africa)

  • Andrew Walker QC (England and Wales)

  • Justice Malcolm Wallis (South Africa)

  • Craig Watt-Pringle SC (South Africa)

  • Justice Sharise Weiner (South Africa)


Click here to view the full list of papers from the 2018 World Bar Conference.


Click here to view photos from the 2018

World Bar Conference.

bottom of page